Knights of Badassdom: Geek Gods go LARP

Am I getting YouTube happy this weekend? I don’t know, but what I do know is that some of the most awesome Geek Gods of the Small Screen are coming together to make a movie about LARP (Live Action Role-Play) Gone Wrong. And by Geek Gods, I mean:

Peter Dinklage (Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones)
Summer Glau (River, Firefly and Serenity; Cameron, The Sarah Connor Chronicles)
Danni Pudi (Abed, Community)
Ryan Kwanten (Jason, True Blood)

Not a bad line-up, I got to say! As a former LARPer myself I am dead excited to see this. Some of you on Twitter may have noted my frequent little geek-gasms when episodes of Game of Thrones looked just like the world’s most AWESOME LARP. So I’m especially excited to see this, especially as Peter Dinklage is in it, and you know I have the Dinklage love. I’m also hoping we see some kickassery from Glau – I mean, you would, wouldn’t you?

My only negative point from that trailer is that there aren’t enough women. I know I sound like a broken record, but then, films feel like a broken record to me on this issue, so I’ve decided to resign myself to being boring on it until the world stops being boring at me about it. And, believe me, I’m aware that there are still more men than women in many geekish events, including LARP, but as a lady who has LARPed, I gotta say that the ratio at least feels more like 60/40 than the 90/10 I had an impression of from the trailer.

Don’t get me wrong, it looks like the film is still doing better than most movies, but when you (from the looks of things) have five main characters only one of which is female… Summer Glau starts to feel like the token badass chick. And when you toke her out in nerdbait sexy-knight gear… yes, it reflects a reality, but only one portion of it. I have known hot LARP ladies who are both hard (in-game and out) and like to show skin. To those ladies, I say: rock on! But I’ve known plenty of other ladies who play… well, as wide a wealth of characters as the men do, with no reflection on their relative hotness.

But hey, it’s a trailer, who knows what the actual film shows. Overall, the ratio of people points towards diversity: more women than most films (despite the problems mentioned above), looks like possibly a guy in a wheelchair kicking ass (although that might just be a motorised chariot), not an entirely white cast (although not reaching the diversity levels of Community, which brought Danni Pudi to fame), and Dinklage bringing it in for actors of a shorter stature.

I’m looking forward to it. Great to see more geek culture hitting our screens and showing itself up as a part of the many-facetedness of life, rather than a freaky fringe. Hussar!

[Edit:] You know? On my seventh rewatching, there are actually quite a lot of ladies in the background. I think my point about the leads and how they’ve dressed and shot Summer Glau stands, but overall balance of the film may not be so bad.

About Serenity Womble

I'm a writer of science fiction and fantasy short stories, as well as many, many unfinished novels. I review things of a generally speculative nature. This is my blog for writing and reviewing.
This entry was posted in Knights of Badassdom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Knights of Badassdom: Geek Gods go LARP

  1. Tink says:

    Sweet Zombie Jesus that looks AWESOME!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

