Doctor Who – The Rebel Flesh

I feel like I should review The Rebel Flesh, but I find I don’t have much to say. I guess that’s a review in itself. It has lots of elements I should like: doppelgängers, new forms of life, angst, Rory. OK, I did like Rory, but… it was all so incredibly predictable. I have seen this Doctor Who story arc a million, million times. People enslave or try to make use of an apparently inanimate or harmless creature or feature of their landscape. It turns out that it is sentient. People get scared and do something stupid. Unnecessary conflict is generated out of the stupidity. The Doctor tries to save everyone and make them all love each other. It either works or it doesn’t. The End.

To make it anything more than that, I need a monster that really intrigues me, and doppelgängers usually do, but these ones aren’t really hitting home, for some reason. Maybe it’s just that it feels like the gloopy faces belong on Odo. Probably it’s just that everyone’s reactions are so predictable. Don’t get me wrong: this is a perfectly OK Doctor Who story… which is why it’s been written so many times. I’m just not going to be desperate to rewatch it, that’s all.

But hey ho, it’s a two-parter, and I’m generally in favour of those. Perhaps it will pick up in part two!

About Serenity Womble

I'm a writer of science fiction and fantasy short stories, as well as many, many unfinished novels. I review things of a generally speculative nature. This is my blog for writing and reviewing.
This entry was posted in Doctor Who, Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

