The Twelfth Day – Christmas has risen from the grave…

I was just in the middle of composing a post about how we should all be giving a little love to our free genre podcasts and ezines, and on looking up the link for Hub, I saw that a new issue is out! With my little Christmas story right at the top! Wooyay!

For anyone wondering why Hub‘s Christmas issue has come out in February, allow me to explain: my story was accepted for the Christmas issue in December, and all was going well for publication, but then an evil flu of vast proportions struck down the beating heart of the Hub machine – the hub of Hub Alasdair Stuart. He’s been struggling with Ill since then, along with various other things, which has delayed the issue’s release. I’m still delighted to have my story come out in this awesome ezine. The way I view it, it’s like Christmas has died and come to life again: it’s Undead Christmas. Which works very well with my story’s themes.

The story, you may recall, was originally written for submission to Dark Fiction Magazine’s Twelve Days of Christmas Anthology. Hence the ghostly undead theme. It was not yet all that it could be, however. I received positive feedback, but could see why it wasn’t accepted. With fresh eyes I returned to the story, made it better, and sent it out again. Hub accepted – hussar!

And now, here it is, a ghostly story for an Undead Christmas. Go read it and give Hub your love!

About Serenity Womble

I'm a writer of science fiction and fantasy short stories, as well as many, many unfinished novels. I review things of a generally speculative nature. This is my blog for writing and reviewing.
This entry was posted in Awesome Things, The Twelfth Day, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Twelfth Day – Christmas has risen from the grave…

  1. loummorgan says:

    I, for one, love the Undead Christmas idea. And will be duly celebrating. It’s like Unbirthdays, only with more mince pies.

    Congratulations – it’s a fantastic story 🙂

    • Thank you! Very much appreciated. I was quite proud of this story (although I’m painfully aware of a missing word towards the end in rereading) and I’m really pleased to see it published. Glad to see that it’s been fairly well-received, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

