Carrot and Potato Soup Without a Blender

Not about writing or reviewing, I know, but hey, I was tweeting about it, and I’d like to make this available to anyone who was trying to do this (as I was at the weekend) and unable to find any tips.

You will need:
3-4 carrots
Some potatoes (I just had a random assortment from my allotment, most of which are small to very small, so a number wouldn’t really help here – let’s say: not as much potato as carrot, but no less than half as much)
1 vegetable stock cube
500ml of water
Some ground corriander
Some mustard seeds (a teaspoon of whole-grain mustard would probaly also do, but I got a mahoosive bag of mustard seeds from a healthfood store years ago for use in pickling shallots, so I used some of that)
A grater
A kettle
A largish sauspan with lid
Some kind of heated surface (I used a hot plate, but you probably have a cooker with hobs – use that)
NO BLENDER

What to do:
Break up stock cube into some suitable bowl or jug, boil water in kettle and pour over stock cube. Stir a bit. Hussar! You know have stock.
Put stock in sauspan an turn up to a medium heat. Grate two of the carrots, and cut the others into chunks. Put all carrots in sauspan with the stock.
Cut up potatoes into smallish chunks, and put these in too.
Add seasoning to your taste. Coriander is apparently traditional, and I have oodles of the stuff. I never measure my herbs and spices, so use as much as you like, but 1-2 teaspons will probably do it. I used ‘some’ mustard seeds – 1 teaspoon would probably do it – pepper or ginger might also work well.
Cook the LIFE out of that baby. By which I mean to say: bring the concoction to a simmer, then turn down to a low to medium heat, put the lid on, and wait. I saw two hours as a suggestion, but I think mine was there for longer.
Check back periodically to stir, and eat when it looks like soup.

Makes 2-3 bowls.

In the future, I’m gonna try just grating everything, which I suspect will dramatically reduce cooking time, but this actually tasted pretty good, and chunky soup is quite tasty.

About Serenity Womble

I'm a writer of science fiction and fantasy short stories, as well as many, many unfinished novels. I review things of a generally speculative nature. This is my blog for writing and reviewing.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Not-writing, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

